More Fantasy Classics

Fantasy.  It’s what I gobbled up as a child and young adult.  I still love to read fantasy.  Much of the current fantasy trends dark to very dark and I prefer something with a more upbeat ending.  I like the good guys and gals to win and the bad ones to get their just deserves.  Hardships may abound, but not excessive blood and gore.  The classic Dark is Rising series by Susan Cooper is just my cup of tea.   This features the age old struggle between Light and Dark with children as the main characters fighting the battles for the sake of the entire world. These classic stories are deeply rooted in the rich heritage of Arthurian legend and Celtic mythology. Susan Cooper depicts a world in which the forces of evil, however terrifying, are ultimately seen as hollow and valueless in comparison to the forces of good. This is a five book series, written in the 1980s, set in Wales and England, but each book can stand alone.  If one happens to pick up a book out of order, they still make an excellent story.  I recommend that you read them in order:

1.  Over Sea, Under Stone

2. The Dark is Rising

3. Greenwitch

4. The Gray King

5. Silver on the Tree

There are six children as the main characters in these books, but the last book is the only one with all six in it.

The Dark is Rising was a Newbery Medal Honor winner.  The Gray King was a Newbery Medal Winner.  They are easily found in print.  In fact, in addition to the usual book outlets, the Folio Society has a set bound in buckram and The Easton Press has a matched set for sale.  If you have never read them, do yourself a favor and buy a set.  I recommend them for fifth grade through adult.


About Sue

From the time, as a young girl, when Sue read the Narnia series by C.S. Lewis, she was hooked on fantasy. She loves to read fiction and write within many genres, but she always winds up going back to fantasy. For years she has had fantasy stories spinning around in her head and now that she is retired from many years of teaching, she is putting those stories into book form. She has many interests, including quilting and playing the mountain dulcimer, but writing is the most satisfying of all. Sue lives in the great state of Maine with her husband of 38 years. She has been a factory worker, a waitress, a librarian, and a teacher. Her biggest job was being a mother and she has three grown children. Now that she is a grandmother, she is enjoying that role immensely.

Posted on November 3, 2014, in Age - Adult, Age - Middle Grade, Age - Young Adult, Authors - Sue Santore, Genre - Fantasy Stories and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. This is one of my all-time favorite fantasy series! Read them myself, then read all of them to my children. Great series!!

  2. Debbie, I’ve read them at least three times, myself! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: